Day One

Today I browsed on my favorite store’s website and filled up my shopping cart with about $550 worth of clothing and shoes.  (And at my store, that’s fewer than ten items!)  The difference today was that I decided against the move.  Although I do need some new clothes for work next year, these items were mostly in the wrong season and were above what I should be spending, so I’m proud of myself for saying no.

 

I don’t often say no.  That’s why I’m here in the first place, blogging about my financial life.  I am making up a finance journal of sorts because, let’s face it – everything looks both better and worse in black and white.  I probably chose today to start because things are starting to look better.  I decided against an unnecessary purchase and I managed not to spend a single dime today.  Strong work!

 

Let me introduce myself.  I am a recent college graduate who is soon moving to New England for work.  I’m leaving school with about $3000 of credit card debt- and that’s it.  My goal is to pay that off this year (and of course, to not incur any new debt!)  In all honesty, I will not be making very much money at all working in my field – social work.  I love it and have never wanted to work solely for the money, but I realize that I need to be conscious of finances because of the fact that my career path is so low-paying.

 

Well, I’m sure that you think it’s great that I’ve started a blog, but I bet you’re curious as to what else I plan on doing.  I’d love to answer that for you.  I read.  A lot.  I’m searching out other great finance blogs online, learning about the basics of investments, and reading every book I can find on personal finance.  I also plan on shopping smarter – for everything from clothing to groceries to gifts.  I’m excited to see how this goes!

 

Your advice is always welcome!

July 8, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

