Splurge vs. Save

One of the more common articles in beauty magazines is the one that reviews hundreds of beauty products and rates the best of them into splurge and steal categories. In thinking about this, I’ve realized that most purchases I make on a regular basis can be compared in this way. One small way to ‘steal’ on items is to not be brand loyal. For many items, brands in similar price ranges are quite comparable and you can save a bit by buying the particular brand on sale in that range.

The vast majority of my toiletry items are “steal” items. I almost never splurge on shampoo, body wash, face wash, etc. I am also not brand loyal when it comes to hair care products (except for one item, mousse, and my brand of choice runs about $3.25)

I am, however loyal to two things – Burt’s Bees lip balm and Aveeno lotion. Those two everyday items ($3 and $9) are more expensive than many others in their category, but I’ve disliked every other option I’ve tried, so for me it pays to stay with them rather than waste more money on alternatives I won’t use.

Household cleaning products are something that I’ll splurge on. I will spend more money to buy the paper towels that are 100% recycled paper and the earth-friendly, chemical free dish soap and detergent. I feel strongly about taking care of the environment, so to me it’s not a question about buying the cheapest product in order to save a little bit of money.

I think everyone has a mix of saves and splurges that they regularly gravitate to. There is nothing wrong with generics or different brands of certain products, but everyone has his/her own sensitivities towards products that they feel have no adequate alternative. Chances are, the saves and splurges all nearly balance out in the end.

July 9, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

