My coffee shop afternoon

Today, for the first time in about a month, I spent the afternoon in a coffee shop. I am working on my grad school applications, and so my ‘about me’ letter is a big part of those. What I have accomplished thus far is a first draft (and not very good at all) but it was a productive way to spend a gloomy and rainy day.

It has been cool and rainy for the past several days, and I had cabin fever in the worst way from when I woke up this morning. I knew that I couldn’t spend the day inside my apartment. I had to get out. Although I love to sit and read a book, today that would have made me absolutely crazy. I am not much of a movie person, and especially since it was dark and gloomy outside I didn’t feel excited about going and sitting in a dark theater for the afternoon. I have no need to go shopping (unfortunately one of my favorite pastimes) for anything at all; I just went to the grocery store last night. Going for a drive around town or to explore my new-ish neighborhood was not an option with the weather.

Spending my afternoon this way has been especially enjoying. I accomplished what I wanted to (for the most part) and I saw a lot of other people out and about, which I think was exactly what I was craving.

I used to frequent coffee shops often- more than once or twice a week, and I appreciate the concept of making them a special treat now more than ever. The coffee was just adequate because I have become an expert at making my own just to my specifications. Although my four dollar cup of coffee was much more expensive and not quite as good as what I make at home, those three dollars were more for the enjoyable afternoon and the atmosphere than for the coffee itself. Every month or so, I’ll gladly spend a few dollars on an afternoon such as this, especially when the weather turns really bad and there aren’t as many outdoor options easily available.

August 30, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

