I woke up this morning thinking about how little I had to do today. As per usual, I went grocery shopping this morning. I do it every Sunday morning. It’s my release; my time alone and without distractions, and is something that I very much enjoy- I can take an hour, browsing through almost every aisle, even though I have a very specific list and few needs.

After coming home, I looked around my room and realized that it was dusty. So, I swept and dusted. Cleaning always makes me feel grimy, but before I hopped in the shower, I decided to go for a quick run, something that I haven’t done in quite a while. Although exhausted after only a few miles, I felt instantly better afterwards.

I showered and made a quick and easy lunch of leftovers after running. Seeing the clock, and realizing that it was only 1pm and I had about four more hours before I had anywhere to be, I felt rather listless and instantly bored. But then I remembered how full my laundry basket had been when I threw my running clothes in there. I don’t have a washing machine in my apartment and the communal ones are disgusting, so I spent a good hour washing some clothing. This is not a normal pastime for me; there is a laundromat walking distance from where I live, and I usually frequent it 2-3 times each month. Doing some of my laundry by hand will not only give me a way to fill up some hours of my day, but also save me money by saving me trips to that laundromat.

Now my room smells of the lovely scent of air-drying laundry and I am grateful both that I have clothing to wear for the week and that I managed to fill up most of my time on this lazy Sunday. When I finish and publish this post, I will change my clothes, do my hair, and head out the door just in time for my dinner plans. I will come home from my friend’s house both full of delicious food and exhausted from a rather full day. Luckily I will sleep well knowing that I have accomplished plenty for this lazy day.

I hate sitting around and doing nothing – the feeling of listlessness doesn’t sit well with me. It has been an abrupt and harsh change to go from super busy full-time student and extra-curricular maven to someone working only 40-45 hours per week. I like to read, I’m becoming a much more adept cook, I plan on taking up knitting again once it becomes cooler, and I have this as an outlet for my writing. I am also looking for a local community organization that I can become involved in. All of this has served to fill the void that finishing school has left me with.

September 13, 2009. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

